Submitted by scott on Tue, 12/01/2020 - 09:48
-

Tour of Europe and the Holy Land aboard the Quaker City

Itinerary of the Quaker City Excursion, (MTDP 00308).” In Mark Twain’s Letters, 1867–1868. Edited by Harriet Elinor Smith, Richard Bucci, and Lin Salamo. Mark Twain Project Online. Berkeley, Los Angeles, London: University of California Press. 1990, 2007. , accessed 2020-12-08.

  • Excursion to the Holy Land Begins, but doesn't get very far
    Sat Jun 08, 1867

    June 8 Saturday – Quaker City left New York at 2 PM for excursion to the Holy Land, the first organized pleasure party ever assembled for a transatlantic voyage. The ship carried only 65 passengers, way short of the 110 limit. Few were from Plymouth Church. Due to rough seas the ship got only as far as Gravesend Bay, off Brooklyn. The captain elected to drop anchor and wait out the storm for two days. 

  • QC departed Gravesend Bay
    Mon Jun 10, 1867

    10 June QC departed Gravesend Bay, 12:30 p.m.

  • Arrive Horta, Azores
    Fri Jun 21, 1867

    21 June QC arrived at Horta, island of Fayal, Azores, in the morning.

  • Depart Horta
    Sun Jun 23, 1867

    23 June QC departed Horta, 11:00 a.m.

  • Arrive Gibraltar
    Sat Jun 29, 1867

    29 June QC arrived at Gibraltar, 10:00 a.m.

  • Steamer to Tangier
    Sun Jun 30, 1867

    30 June SLC and companions took a steamer to Tangier.

  • Depart Tangier for Gibraltar
    Mon Jul 01, 1867

    1 July SLC and companions returned from Tangier to Gibraltar in time for the QC’s 6:00 p.m. departure.

  • Arrive Marseilles
    Thu Jul 04, 1867

    4 July QC arrived at Marseilles, 7:00 p.m.

  • Depart Marseilles for Paris
    Fri Jul 05, 1867

    5 July SLC and companions departed Marseilles for Paris by an evening train.

  • Arrive Paris
    Sat Jul 06, 1867

    6 July SLC and companions arrived in Paris in the evening.