Submitted by scott on Tue, 12/01/2020 - 10:47
-

4/11/1878 - 9/3/1879

  • Return to Baden-Baden
    Sat Aug 10, 1878

    August 10 Saturday – In the morning the men explored Dilsburg Castle. Sam and Joe started back to Baden Baden by train. 

  • Baden-Baden to Lucerne, Switzerland
    Mon Aug 12, 1878

    August 12 Monday – The men left Baden Baden by rail and arrived at Lucerne, Switzerland.

  • Excursion to Rigi-Kulm
    Thu Aug 15, 1878

    August 15 Thursday – The entire Clemens party took a two-day excursion to the Rigi-Kulm. They spent the night in a hotel on the Rigi to watch the sunset and sunrise.

  • Carriage Ride to Interlaken
    Wed Aug 21, 1878

    August 21 Wednesday – Sam hired a carriage and the group continued on to Interlaken, Switzerland.

  • Jungfrau Hotel, Interlaken
    Thu Aug 22, 1878

    August 22 Thursday – At Jungfrau Hotel, Interlaken—Superb view of the Jungfrau.

  • To Kandersteg
    Fri Aug 23, 1878

    August 23 Friday  Sam and Twichell said goodbye to the family and left Interlaken. They ate lunch at an inn in the village of Frutigen, then reached Kandersteg, Switzerland about sundown.

  • To the village of Leuk
    Sat Aug 24, 1878

    The pair set off with an old guide and climbed on foot up through the pass, coming down a precipitous trail to the village of Leuk.  The pair rested from their hike in Leuk, then drove a buggy a few miles to Leukerbad.

  • Train to Visp. Hike to St. Nicklaus
    Mon Aug 26, 1878

    August 26 Monday  Sam and Joe took a train to Locchi-Suste (Visp).  From Visp the two hiked “6 hours through mud & rain” the ten miles to St. Nicklaus, Switzerland 

  • Tramp to Zermatt
    Tue Aug 27, 1878

    Left St. Nicholas at 9.15, 27th. Sam and Joe tramped twelve miles up the gorge to Zermatt.

  • Tramp to Riffle
    Wed Aug 28, 1878

    August 28 Wednesday – Sam and Joe walked six hours from Zermatt to Riffle and took rooms in a hotel there.