Submitted by scott on Tue, 12/01/2020 - 11:03
-

6/5/1891 - 5/10/1895

  • Leave Ouchy-Laussane for Berlin. ?
    Mon Oct 05, 1891

    October 5 Monday – The planned day to leave Ouchy-Laussane for Berlin. According to Rodney, the family made this long trip in two days, stopping at Basel, Switzerland [138] and then Frankfurt,

  • Strassburg
    Tue Oct 06, 1891

    October 6 Tuesday – A travel day for the Clemens party on their way to Berlin. Sam’s notebook: Strassburg, Oct. 6.—Arles is very well, perhaps; but this is the place for pretty girls, apparently [NB 31 TS 8].

  • Frankfurt on the Main
    Wed Oct 07, 1891

    October 7 Wednesday – Stopping at Frankfurt on the Main (Frankfurt) the Clemens party may have spent the night at the Hotel Continental.

  • Frankfurt to Berlin
    Thu Oct 08, 1891

    October 8 Thursday – Another travel day for the Clemens party, making the last leg from Frankfurt to Berlin, some 340 miles, by train.

  • At 7 Körnerstrasse, Berlin,
    Fri Oct 09, 1891

    October 9 Friday – In their winter quarters at 7 Körnerstrasse, Berlin,

  • Dresden
    Fri Dec 18, 1891

    December 18 Friday – Sam left Berlin with William Phelps and traveled 125 miles south to Dresden.  Returned on the 19th.

  • Hotel Royal
    Thu Dec 31, 1891

    December 31 Thursday – Sam’s notebook:  The family arrived in their quarters at the Hotel Royal 1.30 p.m. 

  • Ilsenburg, Germany
    Mon Jan 04, 1892

    January 4 Monday – Sam and Livy left the girls with Sue Crane at the Hotel Royal and traveled to Ilsenburg, Germany in the Hartz Mountains

  • Depart Ilsenburg for Berlin
    Sun Jan 10, 1892

    January 10 Sunday – or  January 12 Tuesday – The Clemenses left Ilsenburg for Berlin [NB 31 TS 21]. At the Hotel Royal,

  • To the sunnier climes of the French Riviera
    Mon Feb 29, 1892

    February 29 Monday – Sam and Livy left the children to their studies in Berlin for the sunnier climes of the French Riviera and a three week rest to regain their health.