Submitted by scott on Wed, 09/15/2021 - 10:08

2 August - 1 October 1859

August 2 Tuesday – Sam left St. Louis as pilot of the Edward J. Gray, (823 tons) Bart Bowen, Captain. Here was another majestic boat for Sam to pilot.

August 10 Wednesday – The Edward J. Gray arrived New Orleans.

August 12 Friday – The Edward J. Gray left for St. Louis.

August 19 Friday – The Edward J. Gray arrived St. Louis.

August 24 Wednesday – The Edward J. Gray left for New Orleans.

September 1 Thursday – The Edward J. Gray arrived New Orleans.

September 3 Saturday – The Edward J. Gray left for St. Louis.

September 9 Friday – The Edward J. Gray arrived St. Louis.

September 13 Tuesday – The Edward J. Gray left for New Orleans.

September 21 Wednesday – The Edward J. Gray arrived New Orleans.

September 23 Friday – The Edward J. Gray left for St. Louis.

October 1 Saturday – The Edward J. Gray arrived St. Louis.

October 2 to 25 Tuesday – Sam stayed “at home awhile” in St. Louis until he learned that he was to pilot the A.B. Chambers [MTL 1: 95n4].

Comment