Submitted by scott on Mon, 11/30/2020 - 19:19
-

Mark Twain, traveling correspondent.  He returns to the States and takes his lectures on-the -road.

  • Wed Mar 07, 1866

    March 7 Wednesday – Sam left for the Sandwich Islands aboard the steamer Ajax. The ship left port at four o’clock in the afternoon on a pleasant breezy day. Passage took ten days, 19 ½ hours [Frear 5]. Sam’s friends had given him letters of introduction to important persons on the island, including the King.

  • Sun Mar 18, 1866

    On a certain bright morning the Islands hove in sight, lying low on the lonely sea, and everybody climbed to the upper deck to look. After two thousand miles of watery solitude the vision was a welcome one.

  • Fri Mar 30, 1866

    MARCH, LATE – SAM UNDERTOOK HIS “EQUESTRIAN EXCURSION” AROUND THE ISLAND. YOUNG HENRY MACFARLANE WAS ALONG FOR MUCH OF THE RIDE

  • Wed Apr 04, 1866

    April 4 Wednesday – Sam visited with the king of Hawaii, Kamehameha V (1830-1872) at Iolani
    Palace

  • Sat Apr 14, 1866

    Sam left for Maui on a small schooner, where he saw the Haleakala volcano

  • Thu Apr 26, 1866

    On Maui he made Wailuku, now the county seat, his headquarters, boarded with G.
    Armstrong whom he had met in Virginia City, roomed with a Mr. Tallant, the plantation bookkeeper,
    loafed and smoked and spun yarns of an evening at a nearby carpenter shop, when not doing so at

  • Tue May 01, 1866

    May 1 Tuesday ca. – Sam visited Ulapalakua Plantation. Sam wrote about sugar production on the
    islands in his twenty-third Union letter published Sept. 26, “The High Chief of Sugardom,” and so
    visited several plantations.

  • Thu May 03, 1866

    May 3 Thursday – Sam returned to Waikapu Sugar Plantation