Submitted by scott on Wed, 09/15/2021 - 10:06

26 October 1859 - 24 February 1860

October 26 Wednesday – Sam left for [St. Louis ??] as the pilot of the A.B. Chambers (410 tons), copilots James C. DeLancey and Will Bowen; Captain George W. Bowman.

November 7 Monday – A.B. Chambers arrived in New Orleans.

November 9 Wednesday – A.B. Chambers left for St. Louis.

November 20 Sunday – A.B. Chambers arrived in St. Louis.

November 23 Wednesday – A.B. Chambers left for New Orleans.

December 4 Sunday – A.B. Chambers arrived in New Orleans.

December 8 Thursday – A.B. Chambers left for St. Louis.

December 17 Saturday – A.B. Chambers arrived in St. Louis.

December 20 Tuesday – A.B. Chambers left for New Orleans.

December 22 or 23 Friday – The Chambers ran aground five miles south of Commerce, Mo., where the channel flowed between Power’s Island and Goose Island—a notorious trap. It was soon stuck hard with ice piling up around it. Out of wood, the captain ordered Sam and seven others to take a yawl and row up river to fetch a flatboat with wood. Sam’s judgment in directing the craft avoided certain death by any other course [MTL 1: 95n4]. (See this note for the full story as told by Grant Marsh, first mate.)

December 29 Thursday – A.B. Chambers reached Cairo, Illinois.

Confusion here... December 31 Saturday – A.B. Chambers arrived in New Orleans.

January 7 Saturday – A.B. Chambers arrived in New Orleans.

January 10 Tuesday – A.B. Chambers left for St. Louis.

January 20 Friday – A.B. Chambers arrived in St. Louis.

February 1 Wednesday – A.B. Chambers left for New Orleans.

February 11 Saturday – A.B. Chambers arrived in New Orleans.

February 14 Tuesday – A.B. Chambers left for St. Louis.

February 24 Friday – A.B. Chambers arrived in St. Louis.

March 21 Wednesday – According to records accessed at the Department of Commerce, Steamboat Inspection Service in St. Louis in 1925, Sam’s pilot license, initially issued Apr. 9, 1859 was renewed on this day [The Twainian, January 1940].

Comment